Decorating for Christmas

A year ago, after having moved across the country just five months previously, we moved even farther east on Dec. 17. Our agreement upon moving was that we would return home for Christmas every year, which is how I found myself begging our daughter to have my brother help her move our 7 1/2 foot tree from its box in the basement to the living room upstairs. Neither seemed very inclined to help with the process, but as I was flying in on Dec. 19, and the tree is too heavy for me to lift, I begged and cajoled, and then my husband ordered her to make it happen. I assured her she wouldn’t have to help decorate – I’d do all of that – I just needed help getting the tree into position.

That is all a long story to explain how I came home to find this:

Image

Darth Tree. Also known as “Darth Tree and the horse he rode in on.” It’s not a great picture, but there is the tree, as requested, with a Darth Vader mask my brother wore in the ’70s, my daughter’s light saber, and at the bottom, her old stick horse. Those two really had to search the archives for this one. And since you asked, yes, I did leave it exactly like that, and was happy to check “decorate the tree” off my long list of things to do.

While they were going through the Halloween stuff, they also found an old skull:

Image

To this, they added a light-up Santa hat headband, and light-up glasses purchased at an Elton John concert.

How lovely to come home to a fully-decorated house, and not to have to worry about decorating after packing, moving, unpacking, then flying cross-country. I haven’t moved this year, and I don’t expect similar decorating assistance, but it’s fun to imagine how those two would decorate this year.

What items do you have packed away in storage that some silly person might use to decorate your home for the holidays? Any silly decorating traditions?

2 thoughts on “Decorating for Christmas

  1. About a hundred years ago, a friend of mine showed up at my door at Christmastime and handed me the tone arm from his old record player. That’s it, just the tone arm, with no word of explanation. I stuck a ribbon on it, and have been hanging it on my tree ever since.

What do you think?

