Snow Day!

I took several hundred photos of the weekend snowstorm that hit Boston. Our house in Houghs Neck lost power for 36 hours, and there are still thousands of people without power, four days later. I’m glad it has warmed up some, because I don’t think I could have handled the cold much longer. People should not have to wear stocking caps and gloves to bed. I hope folks have found safe, warm places to hole up until power is restored.

As much damage as snow can cause, it also happens to be beautiful, and so I want to share some of the images I made during and after the storm.

Image

The first five photos were shot Saturday morning, while the snow was still coming down and wind was blowing.

Image

Image

Image

Image

This photo was shot Saturday evening. The sun peeked out to taunt us for an hour or so.

Image

The rest were made Sunday afternoon. Sunny day, and lots of melting snow made for some interesting images.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

9 thoughts on “Snow Day!

  1. We lost power for 24 hours, and I was ready to cry. These photos are beautiful and remind me of exactly why I will always live in New England. As much as we complain about the weather (it’s too hot, it’s too cold, it’s too humid, it’s too dry…) I LOVE what nature does to this part of the country, and your post has reconfirmed that for me.

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Travel Theme: Mountains | I did it … for Johnny

What do you think?

