Duckling Day Parade

Boston’s Duckling Day Parade is the best Mother’s Day event in the history of history. Truly the greatest thing ever. Thousands of kids and adults start by hanging around an area where vendors have set up, as well as crafts and games, before the parade begins. Led by the Harvard band, the parade meanders through the Common before crossing the street and entering the Public Garden. It meanders some more, then ends up at the Make Way for Ducklings statue for many adorable photo-ops (and frustrated photographers, who can’t get through the mass of adults with our cameras)! This was our second year attending, and our daughter’s first. As a Mother’s Day gift to me, she attended without complaint, and her camera was pretty active, as well. She did, however, refuse to wear yellow. Maybe next year! I have about 100 photos of adorable children I’d love to share with you, but instead, I’ll try to cull that down a bit. You’re welcome (or are you?).

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

12 thoughts on “Duckling Day Parade

  1. Oh man…my heart just melted. Boston is seriously one cool town. What a celebration of spring and Mother’s day. Sigh. Maybe you could make your daughter a large yellow ducky suit for Christmas? ;oP

    • If there is, I wish I knew it. I know it’s based on the children’s story Make Way for Ducklings, but other than that, I’ve got nothing! There are ducklings, parent ducks, police officers and a band. I haven’t read the book, but I think everyone’s covered. It’s more an event for parents than kids, but darn if those kids aren’t adorable!!

What do you think?

